APPROVED September 25, 2015

University Chicago

Minutes of the University Senate

August 28, 2015

Members Present: Samya Abu-Orf, Alinaa Alsaud, Michaelene Ansted, Lisa Burkhart, Mariana Chaves, Timothy Classen, Leanne Cribbs, David Embrick, Lucas Fleisher, Kelly Garbach, Lisa Gillespie, Dominick Hall, Zelda Harris, Thomas Kelly, Terri Kilbane, Joyce Knight, Jay Malcolm, Niamh McGuigan, Kenechukwu Mmeje, Devin Moss, Sergio Ortiz, Kim Searcy, Noah Sobe, Don Stemen, Nancy Tuchman, Maria Udo, Susan Uprichard, Bastiaan Vanacker, Talmadge Wright

Members Absent: Jeffrey Garceau, David Yellen

Ex-Officio members Present: John Pelissero, Samuel Attoh, Tobyn Friar

I. Welcome and Announcements

The meeting was called to order at 5:40 P.M. The Chair welcomed all and announced new student and staff members of the Senate.

II. Adoption of April 25, 2015 Meeting Minutes

T. Kelly moved that the minutes be approved as amended. T. Wright seconded the motion. The question was called and the motion carried unanimously.

III. Election of Standing Committee Chairs

Kim Searcy was nominated as Chair of the Academic Affairs and Research committee and David Yellen-was nominated as the Vice Chair. Because the election was uncontested the Chair declared them both elected by acclamation.

No nominees were received for the Chair and Vice-Chair positions of the Budget and Strategic Planning committee. Leadership of this committee will be taken up at the September meeting.

Terri Kilbane was nominated as Chair of the Diversity committee and Samya Abu-Orf-was nominated as Vice Chair. Because the election was uncontested the Chair declared them both elected by acclamation.

Bastiaan Vanacker was nominated as Chair of the Faculty Affairs and Staff Affairs committee and Sergio Ortiz was nominated as Vice-Chair. Because the election was uncontested the Chair declared them both elected by acclamation.

Niamh McGuigan was nominated as Chair of the Student Development and Success committee and Leanne Cribbs was nominated as Vice Chair. Because the election was uncontested the Chair declared them both elected by acclamation.

APPROVED September 25, 2015

Donald Stemen was nominated as Chair of the Bylaws and Elections committee and Jeffrey Garceau was nominated as Vice Chair. Because the election was uncontested the Chair declared them both elected by acclamation.

V. Adjournment

The meeting was at adjourned 6:03 P.M.